top of page
Search

My first blog post!

So I've decided to start a blog about my adventures in dog breeding. In the past, breeding has been a hobby but I've decided to document my journey with our dog Pepper, as she has recently turned two, gotten her eyes and hips certified, and is regularly running hunt tests and should be titled soon. So here I am shopping for a stud for her first litter. Mind you, I also have my eyes on another bitch to bring into the pack, so breeding labs is in my future again and I am so excited.

Why am I a dog breeder? Puppies are a gift from God. I cry every whelping because of the awe that new life inspires in me. It is incredibly moving to hear that puppy squeal and to get the gratification of seeing a bitch learn between pup number one and number five how to clean them and get them on the teat effectively without any intervention, and to watch what nature intended unfold at its most base level. As a mother, I feel the pain of birth and the joy of new life with my bitch, and my heart attaches to those pups with hers. I love the bond and connection I feel we have as female mammals, in this together. Our dogs look to us for guidance, reassurance, a grounding presence, and also lend that to us as well. How do they look into our souls and still love us? It's an amazing thing, and hard to describe to someone who has never experienced it.

On top of the spiritual gratification I get from breeding, I am also fascinated by the science behind birth and genetics. I have two degrees in geology, and have a good scientific and objective mind that is always questioning and seeking knowledge and data. I have an interest in the breed beyond the act of enjoying raising puppies, though I really do enjoy it!

Another reason I am in a particularly good position to be a dog breeder is that I am married to an exceptional dog trainer. He trains and campaigns our bitches, which means he has the knowledge of what characteristics make great dogs, and has a excellent background in the business. Also - he's not half bad looking ;)

Currently, my full time job is a middle school science teacher, and breeding is a side business. My husband is a full time geologist and training is a side business. We are working towards a goal of dogs full time, but are still in the planning/execution stage of that - I'll keep you informed along the way!

Thanks for visiting my blog. I intend to use this forum to post the research I am doing on improving the breed, rearing and raising pups, and to document my journey towards a self sustaining, responsible dog breeding business. Stay tuned for upcoming posts about selecting a stud, researching bloodlines, and current views on whelping and puppy rearing.

31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page